Posted by on 18 April 2013 | 0 Comments

Always near the ball: Gym and 2012 WP Schools no 8 Rikus Bothma lends a hand

The Western Province selectors have named four teams plus reserves for what should be the penultimate round of Craven Week trials, which will be held at Bellville High School on Wednesday 24 April 2013.

While one would normally assume that the Stoffberg and Links teams, who meet at 16:15 are more highly regarded than the Jasper and van Rensburg selections, who play each other at 15:15, there is always room for surprises in the final selections.

Particularly interesting among those selected are:
Carlton Fortune, who is out for the season and was withdrawn by his school on 17 April;
François van der Merwe, who has just returned to competitive rugby from injury;
Ruan Brits, who has played little rugby due to national athletics commitments;
Reghardt Louw, a front-rower with a just-about-healed broken arm;
Daniel du Plessis, who only returned to competitive rugby last weekend after a long injury lay-off.

JASPER Team                                                            VAN RENSBURG Team

15 Hanston Fielies (Tyg)                                           15 Khanyo Ngcukana (RBHS)
14 Dylon Fairbridge (PGym)                                      14 Leaviel Gouws (PGym)
13 Carlton Fortune (BL)                                           13 Wayno Visagie (PGym)
12 Richard Rodgers (SACS)                                       12 Luan Boshoff (HJS)
11 Nic le Roux (RBHS)                                               11 Tyrone Jacobs (Kass)
10 Danrich Visagie (BL)                                            10 Adriaan Carelse (HHH)
  9 Stef de Gouveia (RBHS)                                        9 Damien Stevens (HJS)
  8 Charl-François du Toit (HJS)                                  8 Graham Geldenhuys (RBHS)
  7 Pieta Smith (PRG)                                                 7 Phillip Nel (BL)
  6 Ryan Davids (Exc)                                                 6 Christo van der Merwe (PRG)
  5 Wian Engelbrecht (Brack)                                     5 Le Roux Roets (HJS) 
  4 Matthew le Roux (HJS)                                         4 Johan Momsen (PGy)
  3 Brett Paulse (RBHS)                                              3 Jerome Korff (PRG)
  2 Jacques van Zyl (PRG)                                          2 Cuan Hablutzel (Bish)
  1 Jacques Wiese (PGym)                                         1 Gavin van der Berg (PGy)


 STOFFBERG Team                                                       LINKS Team

15 Danté van der Merwe (HJS)                                  15 Heinrich Bühr (BL)
14 Daylen Daniels (HJS)                                             14 Edwil van der Merwe (PRG)
13 Jarred Sage (WBHS)                                              13 Dewald Naudé (HJS)
12 Ryan Oosthuizen (PGy)                                         12 Daniel du Plessis (PRG)
11 Grant Hermanus (PGy)                                          11 Ferlin Vers (HJS)
10 Siya Alam (WBHS)                                                  10 Dennis Cox (Exc)
  9 Herschel Jantjies (PRG)                                          9 TJ Goddard (Tyg)
  8 Rikus Bothma (PGy)                                                8 Gareth Cilliers (PGy)
  7 Jacques Vermeulen (PGy)                                       7 Vernon Pietersen (PRG)
  6 Charlton Jonas (HJS)                                               6 Lohandré Luus (PGy)
  5 JD Schickerling (PGy)                                              5 Mitch Lingeveldt (PRG)
  4 Burger van Niekerk (HJS)                                        4 Jaco Willemse (PGy)
  3 François van der Merwe (HJS)                                3 Matthys Basson (BL)
  2 Daniel du Plessis (HJS)                                            2 Wilner Conradie (PGy)
  1 Thomas du Toit (HJS)                                              1 Kyle Whyte (RBHS)



HK Ruan Brits (HJS); FR Kabous Voges (Brack); FR Chris van Romburgh (Brack);
FR Reghardt Louw (PGy); LK Dean Basson (SACS); LK Hendrik Joubert (Brack);
LK SJ Roux (BL); LF Saud Abrahams (Bish); LF Renier Wepener (BL);
SH Luke Houba (RBHS); FH Jean Strydom (Bell); UB Diego Visagie (Str);
FB Tiaan Swanepoel (Stbg).






No one has commented on this page yet.

Post your comment

RSS feed for comments on this page | RSS feed for all comments