Posted by on 14 May 2014 | 1 Comments

Pick me and Herschell !
Paul Roos scrumhalf Calvin Nel (bending) gets into the thick of
things during his game-time against Paarl Gym last Saturday. (photo: Eduan Heyman)

The Western Province and Boland schools selectors have announced the names of the players to play against each at HS Bellville on Wednesday 21 May 2014.

These matches are regarded as the final trials by both provinces and are thus a strong indication of the composition of the sides to represent the provinces at the Academy and Craven Weeks in the mid-year vacation.

Still playing their cards close to their chests, the WP selectors have announced the players in groups according to their positions, so there’s still some guesswork involved.

Western Province Under 18 group

Full-backs (15)
Rayhann Lombaard (HJS), Ryan Muller (Bell), Gerard Pieterse (Bis), Tiaan Swanepoel (Stell)

Wings (11/14)
Leaviel Gouws (PGy), Tyrone Jacobs (Kass), Nico Leonard (PRG), André Manuel (Bis), Duncan Saal (Kass), Edwill van der Merwe (PRG), Lourens van Dyk (BL), Joshua Vermeulen (PRG), K. Wessels (Znv)

Outside Centres (13)
Ciaran Dayaram (SACS), Justin Heunis (Bis), Taigh Schoor (PGy), M. van der Hoven (Rang)

Inside Centres (12)
C.Damons (Exc), Carlton Fortune (BL), Cornel Smit (Bis), Jihaad Smith (Wyn), Edrich Venter (PRG)

Flyhalves (10)
Aidynn Cupido (PRG), Reinhardt Fortuin (PRG), Jez McIntyre (Bis), Danrich Visagie (BL)

Scrumhalves (9)
Zandré de Koker (Pgy), Graham Hendricks (HHH), Herschell Jantjies (PRG), Calvin Nel (PRG), Johndré Williams (BL)

No. 8s
Saud Abrahams (Bis), HJ Luus (PGy), Michael Meyer (PRG), Keagan Timm (Wyn)

Blindside Flanks (7)
Mitchell Carstens (PRG), Zain Davids (RBHS), Joel Paarwater (Bis), Dean van Tonder (PRG)

Openside Flanks (6)
Mervano da Silva (Bis), Dieter Leicher (PGy), Jacques Oosthuizen (PRG), Johan Visser (PGy)

Locks (4,5)
Heinrich Basson (JvR), Emile Cloete (PRG), Louis Conradie (PRG), Ruben de Villiers (HJS), Gerhard du Toit (BL), Sam Mitchell (Bis), Nicolaas Reuvers (Str), Waldo van Rensburg (Stell), Jaco Willemse (PGy)

Tighthead Props (3)
Jerome Korff (PRG), Derrick Marais (HJS), Carlu Sadie (Bell), JP Smith (Bis)

Hookers (2)
Shane Farmer (Tyg), Colwyn Manchest (Kass), Marco Mostert (PGy), Jacques van Zyl (PRG), Hugo Vlok (BL)

Loosehead Props (1)
Wikus Groenewald (HJS), Leo Kruger (HJS), Muammir Salie (PRG), Bertus Smith (BL), Gavin van den Berg (PGy)

Boland Under 18 teams

     Craven Week                             Academy A                                Academy B
15 Raylinn Philander (Hug)         15 Gevin Scheepers (HTS)         15 Chad Horne (W Sec)
14 Earll Douwrie (HTS)               14 Keano Africa (CH)                 14 Cameron April (Sch)
13 Pierre-André Gouws (Hrm)    13 Jayden Kotze (AGy)              13 Carl Kotze (HTS)
12 Stephan Borman (Swd)         12 Benito McPherson (HTS)        12 JH Smal (Ptvl)
11 Marnu Bartels (HTS)              11 Zane Farmer (Swd)                11 Caleb Louw (Swd)
10 Fabio Afrika (West)               10 Adriaan vd Bank (WGy)          10 Austin Hendricks (Breë)
  9 Gervin Rossouw (Swd)            9 Wynand du Toit (CH)               9 Frans Hugo (Lutz)
  8 Iver Aanhuizen (KN)               8 Evan Booysen (HTS)                8 Martin Smit (AGy)
  7 Conal Brown (KN)                   7 Morné van Wyk (Mtg)              7 Jurie Fick (HTS)
  6 Hadley Hendricks (Mtg)          6 Steyn Olivier (WGy)                 6 Charles Williams (Grndl)
  5 Willem Augustyn (HTS)           5 Jaco Abel (Hrm)                       5 Christo Smit (WGy)
  4 Christie vd Merwe (Pik)          4 Earl Adonis (KN)                      4 Tertius Lambrechts (Hug)
  3 Robert Hunt (HTS)                  3 Emile Opperman (HTS)            3 Denver Prins (WGy)
  2 Erich Kankowski (Pik)             2 Etienne van Dyk (Lutz)*          2 Wilric du Plessis (CH)
  1 Roy Brink (HTS)                      1 Clarence van Dyk (Ovb)           1 FC Jv Rensburg (Bred)

16 Adriaan de Waal (AGy)           16 Ruan Terblanche (Lab)          16 Tiaan Smuts (HTS)
                                                                                                         Malherbe Kriel (Bred)
17 Adriaan Oberholzer (AGy)      17 Ignus Tripodi (Stb)                17 PW Koegelenberg (Swd)
18 Stephan Fourie (Ovb)            18 Pieter Wiese (AGy)                18 Curtley Arendse (PJ)
19 Benna vd Westhuizen (Pik)   19 Eddie Haas (HTS)                   19 Keith Rhoda (Vbg)
20 Handré Ontong (Mtg)            20 Marnus Niemand (Swd)          20 Leighton Bell (NO)
                                                                                                         Austin Paulse (PJ)
21 Gershwin Farmer (KN)           21 Ruben Brand (AGy)                 21 Adrian Matthys (Bred)
22 Wynand Roets (HTS)             22 Cleo Adams (Sch)                    22 Gysbert Dippenaar (Pik)
23 Hugo Lambrechts (AGy)        23 Jecean Klaase (AGy)               23 Franco Jansen (Bred)

Res: Alfred Esterhuizen (AGy), Shadley Dazel (KN), Brendon Swanepoel (Mtg), Verynne van Tonder (Gans), Attie van Wyk (CH), Damian Vaughn

* broke his leg against Vredendal 14 May 2014


Post your comment


  • it s funny how boland chooses their teams ...really biased selections...Barrydale High has not 1 representive , but has only lost once. pathetic!!!

    Posted by Viper, 23/05/2014 10:35am (4 days ago)

RSS feed for comments on this page | RSS feed for all comments