Posted by on 12 September 2013 | 0 Comments

Paarl Gym's Andri Cooper and Gavin van den Berg get down and dirty after
beating Outeniqua in the Burger Trophy Final (photo: Eduan Hayman)

The names of the players chosen for the Western Province Under 18 Elite group, which will practice regularly throughout the close season, were announced on Wednesday 11 September 2013. Traditionally, the bulk of the Craven Week and Academy Week sides come from this squad.

It is particularly encouraging to note the number of players (highlighted) who represented who Western Province at either of the above weeks in 2013 and will thus be bringing much-needed experience to the unit.

Full-backs : Andri Cooper (Paarl Gym), Karl Martin Wynberg), Ryan Muller (Bellville),
                  Gerard Pieterse (Bishops), Tiaan Swanepoel (Stellenberg)

Right wings: Tyreeq Cassiem-February (Paarl Boys’ High), Tyrone Jacobs (Kasselsvlei),
                     Ruan Stander (Paarl Gym)

Outside Centres: Carlton Fortune (Boland Landbou), Cornel Smit (Bishops),
                            Wayno Visagie (Paarl Gym)

Inside centres: Ciaran Dayaram (SACS), Taigh Schoor (Paarl Gym), Edrich Venter (Paul Roos)

Left wings: Leaviel Gouws (Paarl Gym), Edwill van der Merwe (Paul Roos),
                   Keenan Abrahams (Paarl Gym)

Flyhalves: Aidynn Cupido (Paul Roos), Reinhard Fortuin (Paul Roos),
                Jandré Grobler (Paarl Boys’ High), Danrich Visagie (Boland Landbou)

Scrumhalves: Zandré de Koker (Paarl Gym), Herschel Jantjies (Paul Roos),
                      Nick Potgieter (Rondebosch), Nick Scott (Wynberg),
                      Jondré Williams (Boland Landbou)

No. 8s: Saud Abrahams (Bishops), Charl-François du Toit (Paarl Boys’ High),
            Michael Meyer (Paul Roos), Keagan Timm (Wynberg)

Flanks: Lwazi Monakali (SACS), Waldo McDonald (Paarl Gym), Joel Paarwater (Bishops),
            Dean van Tonder (Paul Roos), Thabiso Binta (SACS), Johan Visser (Paarl Gym),  
            Mitchell Carstens (Paul Roos), HJ Luus (Paarl Gym)     

Locks: Ruben de Villiers (Paarl Boys’ High), Sam Mitchell (Bishops),
           Jaco Willemse (Paarl Gym)

Tighthead Props: Zain Davids (Rondebosch), Jerome Korff (Paul Roos),
                            Carlu Sadie (Bellville), Derrick Marais (Paarl Boys’ High)

Hookers: Ruan Brits (Paarl Boys’ High), Chayse Tyler (SACS), Jacques van Zyl (Paul Roos)

Loosehead Props: Wikus Groenewald (Paarl Boys’ High), Marco Joubert (Bellville),
                             Bertus Smit (Boland Landbou), Gavin van den Berg (Paarl Gym)


Post your comment


No one has commented on this page yet.

RSS feed for comments on this page | RSS feed for all comments