Article Archives


Back for a second helping !  Paarl Boys' High outside centre, Manny Rass (right), seen here putting on
a burst of speed to round a Grey College opponent in their match earlier this year, will be the
Western Province Craven Week midfield kingpin again this July. (photo: Thys Lombard)

After keeping the eager public – and, doubtless, a few nervous parents, players and coaches – on tenterhooks for even longer than has become the norm, the Western Province schools rugby selectors have finally released the names of the players who will be representing the union at the two Under 18 weeks at Kearsney College in July 2016.

Once again, the teams illustrate the rich resources of players of various population groups for which the area is renowned.

           Craven Week                                                         Academy Week

15. Gianni Lombard (Paarl Boys’ High)                     15. Thaakir Abrahams (Paarl Boys’ High)      
14. Mike Mavovana (Rondebosch)                           14. Urgene Johannes (Paarl Boys’ High)
13. Manny Rass (Paarl Boys’ High)                           13. Aydon Topley (Paul Roos)
12. Henlo Marais (Boland Landbou)                         12. Wian van Niekerk (Paarl Gym)
11. Muller du Plessis (Paarl Gym)                             11. Angelo Davids (Stellenberg)
10. Damian Willemse (Paul Roos)                             10. Theo Boshoff (Paarl Gym)
  9. Vusile Dlepu (SACS)                                            9. Zak Burger (Paarl Gym)
  8. Khanya Ncusane (Paarl Boys’ High)                     8. Francke Horn (Paarl Boys’ High) 
  7. Muller Uys (Paarl Gym)                                        7. Keegan Adams (WCSS) 
  6. Charl Serdyn (Paarl Boys’ High)                           6. Heinrich Brendel (Boland Landbou) (c)
  5. Salmaan Moerat (Paarl Boys’ High) (c)                 5. Raymond Nel (Paarl Gym)
  4. Ben-Jason Dixon (Paul Roos)                               4. Matthew Grobler (Rondebosch)
  3. Adam Neethling (Paarl Boys’ High)                      3. Bulelani Salie (WCSS)                    
  2. Daniel Jooste (Paarl Boys’ High)                          2. Sehan du Toit (Paarl Gym) 
  1. André Booysen (Paarl Gym)                                 1. Lwando Zinto (Violets RFC)

16. Liam Larkan (SACS)                                            16. Vian Fourie (Paarl Boys’ High)
17. Reece Bezuidenhout (Paarl Boys’ High)             17. Daniel Wessels (Paarl Gym) 
18. Tristan Leitch (Paul Roos)                                  18. Ronan Witten (Brackenfell)
19. Jesse Johnson (Paul Roos)                                19. Ian Ketwanga (Parklands)
20. Athi Magwala (Boland Landbou)                        20. Seb Prentice (Bishops)
21. Deon Carstens (Boland Landbou)                      21. Branden de Kock (Brackenfell)
22. Lubelo Scott (Bishops)                                      22. Janlu Steenkamp (Boland Landbou)
23. Quan Eymann (Brackenfell)                               23. Labib Kannemeyer (Wynberg)


Post your comment


No one has commented on this page yet.

RSS feed for comments on this page
RSS feed for all comments